Geographical Structure of the Republic of Benin.3 min read


Benin officially known as the Republic of Benin is one of the West African Countries that is sandwiched between Togo on the left and Nigeria on the right. The capital of Benin Republic is Porto Novo. Porto Novo is located in the west coastal region of Benin also known as the Bight of Benin.
Even though the official capital of Benin is Porto Novo, the economic and political capital is located in Benin’s largest city “Cotonou”.  The official National language in the Republic of Benin is French which is spoken by nearly about 4 Million people.
The Republic of Benin has as an estimated area of 114,860 square kilometer with an estimated population of 11 Million people (2013 Census). The annual growth rate is peaked at 3.20% while the Human Development Index rank is 161 out of 182 according to the (2009, UN Human Development Report). Christianity is the largest religion in Benin with nearly about 61% of the population been Christians. A few chunk of the population practice Islam and traditional worship.

Benin is vastly an agrarian nation which depends highly on myriads of its tropical agricultural produce with employment and income generation coming from majorly subsistence farming. Benin got her independence from France in August 1st I960. Benin uses the CFA franc (XOF) as its national currency while the official driving position is on the right. Its international Dialing code is +229.
The Republic of Benin has a huge diverse culture with almost about 56 languages spoken by the people of this West African country. According to the 2015 World Factbook, the literacy rate in Benin was 89%. Apart from having French as the official national language, other ethnic languages spoken in Benin are; Aguna spoken in the southern region, Aja, Anii spoken in northwest, Anufo, Baatonum spoken in south east and central Benin, Biali, Boko, Dendi spoken majorly in the north, Ditammari, Ede Cabe, Ede Ica, Ede Idaca, Ede Ije, Ede Nago, Fon spoken in the south, Foodo, Fulfulde, Gbe, Gen, Gourmanchéma, Gun, Hausa spoken widely in the North, Ifè spoken widely in the south, Kabiyè, Kyanga, Lama spoken in the north west, Lukpa, Mbelime, Miyobe, Mokole, Nago, Nateni, Ngangam, Notre, Tchumbuli, Tem, Waama, Yom, and Yoruba.
Map of The Republic of Benin  (Yearbook)

It is estimated that in the Republic of Benin, 3.5 Million people speak the French language, 800,000 people speak Baatonum, 180,000 communicate with Dendi, 1.5 Million speak Fon, 80,000 people communicate with Gen, 1 Million people speak Hausa, 20,000 people speak Tem while almost 200,000 people communicate with the Yoruba language.
However, out of the languages in Benin listed above, fifty of them are indigenous language while five of the languages are basically non indigenous. Twenty two of the languages are in the developing phase while twenty three of them spoken vigorously and are active; two are on the edge of extinction.
Do you know?
That someone from Benin is referred to as Beninese? The presidential system of government is practiced in the Republic of Benin. Benin is a member of both the ECOWAS and the African Union.

Check this out  The Mysterious Voodoo Communities Of Benin